n New Coin Poetry - Rough Music - Selected Poems, 1989-2013, Ari Sitas : review

Volume 50, Issue 1
  • ISSN : 0028-4459



Ari Sitas's selects poetry from eight published volumes and one volume still "under construction", the poetry spanning the twenty-five years from 1989 when he debuted with . It is a valuable book, providing a good review of the poetry of one of the few prolific poets of South Africa. In a literary context where poetry disappears from the radar the minute it appears - scant attention in fewer and fewer reviews - Deep South should be lauded for producing a book which reacquaints the reader already familiar with Sitas's work and which will introduce, one hopes, younger readers and aspirant poets to one of South Africa's most vibrant poets. The historical view such a selection provides of Sitas's writing also gives the lie to johnny-come-lately writers and critics' claims that the literature of late-apartheid is an archive of monotone protest.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error