oa Arms Control : Africa - SOPs and the SADC Protocol : a small group with a large vision

Volume 1, Issue 2
  • ISSN :



The SADC Protocol was the first legally binding treaty formulated to control and regulate small arms in Africa. It came into force on 8 November 2004; 30 days after the ninth country deposited its ratification instrument at the SADC Secretariat in Gabarone. The countries that have ratified the Protocol are Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and presumably Zimbabwe. The Angola, the DRC and Madagascar are countries that still have to ratify the Protocol.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error