n Annual Survey of South African Law - The administration of justice

Volume 2013, Issue 1
  • ISSN : 0376-4605



South Africa lost two Chief Justices in late 2012 and mid-2013. Arthur Chaskalson, who served as President of the Constitutional Court from 1994 to 2001 and Chief Justice from 2001 to 2005, passed away on 1 December 2012. Among many achievements and accolades, he was a member of the defence team in the Rivonia Trial of 1963 and was one of the founders of the Legal Resources Centre in 1979. (G Budlender 'In Memoriam: The late former Chief Justice Arthur Chaskalson' (2013) 26 part 1 April Advocate 8-10). Pius Nkonzo Langa succeeded Athur Chaskalson as Chief Justice in 2005, having served as Deputy Chief Justice from 2001. He retired in October 2009 and passed away on 24 July 2013. Justice Langa was a founding member of the National Association of Democratic Lawyers (NADEL). He was among the first judges appointed to the newly created Constitutional Court and served with great distinction. (Moseneke 'Public power on behalf of the people' (2013) 26 part 3 December Advocate 27-8).

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error