n South African Law Journal - New appointments to the Constitutional Court 2009-2012 : notes

Volume 130, Issue 2
  • ISSN : 0258-2503
  • E-ISSN: 1996-2177



In September 2009, 22 candidates were interviewed for four vacancies on the Constitutional Court. These vacancies arose due to the impending end of the tenure the then Chief Justice Pius Langa, and Justices Yvonne Mokgoro, Kate O'Regan and Albie Sachs. In terms of s 174(4)() of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, the Judicial Service Commission ('JSC') prepared a list of seven nominees - three more than the number of vacancies - and submitted it to the President. The seven judges on this list were Judges Johan Froneman, Chris Jafta, Sisi Khampepe, Mandisa Maya, Mogoeng Mogoeng, Leona Theron and Raymond Zondo. Justices Froneman, Jafta, Khampepe and Mogoeng were subsequently appointed.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error