n Tydskrif vir die Suid-Afrikaanse Reg - Recognition of court orders in Malaysia by foreign courts : aantekeninge

Volume 2003, Issue 4
  • ISSN : 0257-7747
  • E-ISSN: 1996-2207



Malaysia is a federation which consists of 13 states and three federal territories. The federal constitution contains three lists of subjects: the federal list, state list and concurrent list (Ibrahim and Joned (1997)). Civil and criminal law, including family law, are within the competence of the federal government and legislature except for Muslim personal law and native law and custom which fall within the jurisdiction of the state government and legislature. In the states of Sabah and Sarawak, personal law is placed under the concurrent list.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error