n Local Government Bulletin - End of cross-boundary municipalities

Volume 8, Issue 1
  • ISSN : 1561-901X



Extracted from text ... LOCAL GOVERNMENT BULLETIN 14 Prior to the 5 December 2000 elections, the Constitution was amended and other legislation was enacted, to provide for the demarcation and establishment of cross-boundary municipalities, i.e. municipalities straddling provincial boundaries. Sixteen crossboundary municipalities were established affecting five provinces in South Africa. The creation of such municipalities was necessary to bring interdependent people and economies on different sides of a provincial boundary together in one municipality. Cross-boundary END OF municipalities In implementing this arrangement many service delivery and other problems surfaced, and government decided to repeal all legislation pertaining to cross-boundary municipalities, and to realign ..

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error