oa MNASSA : Monthly Notes of the Astronomical Society of South Africa - Galaxies

Volume 1-15, Issue 1
  • ISSN : 0024-8266



The universe has been called ""The Realm of the Nebulae"". This name has been proposed by E. Hubble; it is the title of the book in which he has descriptionbed the results of the observations made with the Mount Wilson telescopes. This name expresses the fact that the units with which the universe is built are the nebulae: systems each of some thousands of millions of stars and of clouds of gas or dust. Such is our own galaxy and the similar systems which surround it called extra-galactic nebulae or galaxies. The objects which are loosely termed nebulae can be divided into three main classes, the diffuse galactic nebulae, the planetary nebulae and the extragalactic or spiral nebulae.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error