n Conflict Trends - Situation report : Union of Comoros

Volume 2006, Issue 2
  • ISSN : 1561-9818


The Union of Comoros is a small archipelago nation in the Indian Ocean, at the northern mouth of the Mozambique Channel, about two-thirds of the way between northern Madagascar and northern Mozambique, comprising three islands. These are Grande Comore (1, 025 sq. km.), Anjouan (424 sq. km.), and Moheli (211 sq. km.). A fourth island of the archipelago, Mayotte (374 sq. km), has remained under French sovereignty but is claimed by the Union. The country's terrain is rugged and its climate tropical. The major cities are Moroni and Mutsamudu with 30 000 and 20 000 people respectively.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error