n Conflict Trends - Situation report : DRC

Volume 2006, Issue 2
  • ISSN : 1561-9818


The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is located in Central Africa. It borders Angola, Zambia, Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda, Sudan, Central African Republic and the Republic of Congo. The country's access to the Atlantic Ocean is a narrow strip of land on the north bank of the Congo River. With an area of 2 345 million sq. km, the DRC is the third largest country in Africa. The capital city is Kinshasa with a population of approximately 6.5 million, while the national population is 58 million (2004 estimate). There are more than 200 ethnic groups; the Luba, Kongo, and Anamongo are some of the larger ethnic groupings. The official language is French, with four main national languages - Lingala, Swahili, Kikongo and Tshiluba. The DRC has vast natural and mineral resources including cobalt, copper, niobium, tantalum, petroleum, industrial and gem diamonds, gold, silver, zinc, manganese, tin, uranium, coal, hydropower and timber.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error