n Conflict Trends - The current status of the civilian dimension of the African standby force - : fact file

Volume 2010, Issue 2
  • ISSN : 1561-9818


The African Standby Force (ASF) structure is divided into the five regions of Africa (North, East, Central, West and Southern). The five regions serve as the building blocks of the ASF through their Regional Standby Forces (RSFs). As not all countries in a particular region are part of the same Regional Economic Community (REC), and since some member states belong to more than one economic grouping, they formed the Regional Mechanisms (RM) for the ASF. The following map depicts the RSFs, member states and the location of Force headquarters.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error