n Conflict Trends - AMISOM troop-contributing countries and female representation - : fact file

Volume 2013, Issue 2
  • ISSN : 1561-9818


The African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM) was established on 19 January 2007 by the African Union (AU) Peace and Security Council. The mission comprises military personnel contributed by African member states. The major troop-contributing countries to the mission include Ethiopia, Uganda, Burundi, Kenya, Djibouti and Sierra Leone. In implementing United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Resolution 1325, the mission is working towards having a greater number of female personnel contributed by these countries. Earlier this year, the UNSC, under its Resolution 2093 (2013), renewed the mission's mandate for a period of one year to 2014. The Resolution requested that AMISOM strengthen children's and women's protection in its activities and operations, through including the deployment of a Child Protection Adviser and a Women's Protection Adviser within its existing civilian component. The gender and child protection components within the mission work with each department on the organisational structure indicated in Figure 1, to mainstream gender into the operations of the mission.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error