n Conflict Trends - SADC Standby Force : preparation of peacekeeping personnel 1

Volume 2014, Issue 2
  • ISSN : 1561-9818


The African Standby Force (ASF) is an operational arm of the African Peace and Security Architecture (APSA). It consists of standby multidisciplinary contingents stationed in their countries of origin. The regional standby forces (RSFs) that make up the ASF include: the East African Standby Force (EASF), the Economic Community of West African States Standby Force (ESF), The North African Regional Capability (NARC), the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Standby Force, and the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) Standby Force. Each regional standby capability or brigade that makes up the ASF should consist of the following: a regional brigade, standby roster, centre of excellence, civilian component, pledge units, brigade headquarters, planning element (PLANELM), memorandum of understanding (MoU) and framework documents. As one of the regional standby forces that makes up the ASF, the SADC Standby Force (SSF) was officially launched at the SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government in Lusaka on 17 August 2007. The SSF is represented by a SADC Standby Brigade (SADCBRIG). These compositions are being operationalised between 2010 and 2015. This time frame is in line with phases II and III of the ASF Roadmap. Phase II proposes the consolidation of the ASF tools and concept of operations, and the identification of capacities for deployment prior to 2010, whereas Phase III looks at validating the procedures of the ASF by 2009.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error