n Africa Conflict Monthly Monitor - Intelligence-sharing and law enforcement in Southern Africa - : Southern Africa - issue in focus

Volume 2014, Issue 03
  • ISSN :


When the tanker ship Kerela was hijacked by pirates off the coast of Angola in late January 2014 (see 'New piracy threats and the peril of flags of convenience', page 4), neighbouring Atlantic coast nations like Namibia and South Africa received developments from the news media and Interpol rather than from the Angolan military. When South Africa began combating crime with a new DNA law in Feburary 2014, Southern African countries desiring information about the law had to consult the internet or go through diplomatic channels. The need for adequate intelligence-sharing between the states which form the Southern African Development Community (SADC) is definite and clear, largely due to the cross-border nature of many of the crime and security challenges that the region faces. One of the SADC's key objectives is to "promote peace and security within the SADC region." The current members of the SADC are South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error