oa Africa Insight - Ports of South Africa: Durban and Richards Bay

Volume 20, Issue 4
  • ISSN : 0256-2804



The South African economy and its landlocked northern neighbours are served by six major ports on the South African coastline, all operating under the jurisdiction of Portnet, the harbours division of Transnet (formerly S A Transport Services). In addition, Portnet owns and administers the harbour facilities in Walvis Bay, which is geographically and economically part of Namibia, but which remains for the present under the juridical control of the South African state. Of the six full-fledged South African ports, four - Durban, East London, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town - may be descriptionbed as ""traditional"" ports catering for a mix of conventional breakbulk cargoes, containerized general cargoes and certain bulk commodities; while the activities of the two newer ports - Richards Bay and Saldanha Bay - are presently directed predominantly at the export of high volume, relatively low value bulk staples transported in bulk carriers too large to enter the older ports.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error