oa Africa Insight - The Ports of South Africa: The Cape ports

Volume 21, Issue 1
  • ISSN : 0256-2804



Four major harbours are located along the coastline of the Cape Province. These are the established general cargo ports of Cape Town, Port Elizabeth and East London; and the deepwater bulk export port of Saldanha. In addition, the Walvis Bay territory on the Namibian coast still formally falls under the administrative control of the Cape, thus leaving management and control of all five harbours in the hands of Portnet, the harbours division of Transnet. The minor Cape ports - Mossel Bay, Port Nolloth and Lamberts Bay - handle trivial cargo volumes and will not be considered in this article.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error