oa Africa Insight - The livestock situation in Southern Africa: a study in perspective

Volume 5, Issue 1
  • ISSN : 0256-2804



In its structure and geology there appears to be no well-defined break to distinguish the southern part of the continent from ""Middle Africa"".34) However, for the purpose of this discussion ""Southern Africa"" is identified in terms of what is known as the ""SARCCUS Region"". This division is made on a territorial basis"" and includes, in approximate geographic sequence, Angola, South West Africa, the Republic of South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, Mo�ambique, Malawi, Rhodesia and Botswana. A glance at the map of Africa affirms the claim of these territories to constitute the southern continent. Zambia, though a natural component landlocked between Angola and Mo�ambique-Malawi, is currently, however, not included. Basic relative statistics of these territories are provided in Table 1.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error