oa Alternation - Code-switching as a technique in teaching literature in a Secondary School ESL classroom

Volume 11, Issue 2
  • ISSN : 1023-1757



With all the overtures of a segregated South Africa, prior to the demise of apartheid in 1994, bilingualism was officially understood in terms of English and Afrikaans only. 1994 witnessed a linguistic transformation, unveiling a pluralistic, multi-ethnic and multilingual society. South Africa is now recognized as a truly multilingual country, heralding eleven official languages. Nine African languages, isiNdebele, sePedi, seSotho, siSwati, siTsonga, seTswana, tshiVenda, isiXhosa and isiZulu were added to the two already existing official languages, English and Afrikaans. Yet English continues to reign at the helm of the political, social, economic and educational arenas as the language of opportunity and power.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error