oa Annals of the Natal Museum - Checklist of Southern African millipedes (Myriapoda: Diplopoda)

Volume 39, Issue 1
  • ISSN : 0304-0798



This checklist, compiled from the literature, lists all diplopod species recorded from Africa south of the Zambezi and Kunene Rivers. A total of 552 currently valid species, distributed between 71 confirmed genera, 15 families and 7 orders are included. The greatest diversity has been recorded from South Africa (60 genera, 432 species), followed by southern Mozambique (24 genera, 51 species), Zimbabwe (19 genera, 34 species), Namibia (10 genera, 16 species), Lesotho (5 genera, 8 species), Swaziland (5 genera, 6 species) and Botswana (3 genera, 5 species). An additional 7 introduced species have been recorded. References, the museum housing the type material, the type locality and all localities from which material has been recorded are provided for each species. Taxonomic problems are noted where relevant. Where there is sufficient evidence in the literature, new combinations (45) have been made. These are mainly in the former genera Chersastus (29) and Alloporus (13).

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error