n IMFO : Official Journal of the Institute of Municipal Finance Officers - ANC policy and a revised Intergovernmental Fiscal Relations : conference paper

Volume 11, Issue 2
  • ISSN : 1607-520X



After the 1994 elections, South Africa adopted a new Constitution in 1996. This also saw the creation of the nine provinces as they are known today which replaced the major four provinces and self-governing/independent states that existed prior to 1994. The Constitution allocates specific responsibilities to each of the three spheres. These are divided between exclusive and concurrent responsibilities for national and provincial spheres of government. Chapter 13 of the Constitution focuses on finances of the Republic. Importantly, Section 213 establishes the National Revenue Fund (NRF) into which all revenue received by the Republic is deposited.

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Article metrics loading...


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error